Tribunals and CommissionsSingle Bench(2026) 10 CAT CK 3751

Smt. Jai Kumari Rai vs Union Of India & Ors.

Central Administrative Tribunal, Allahabad · Decided on 15 October 2026

HON’BLE JUDGES
Om Prakash VII, J
RESULT
Dismissed
CASE NUMBER
Original Application No. 330/00888/2025

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

Ask AI about this case

AI Structured Summary

Not yet generated for this judgment

Judgment

39 paragraphs · 2,804 words

The present O.A has been filed by the applicant under section 19 of the Administrative Tribunal Act, 1985 seeking the following reliefs:-

“(i)

To issue order or direction to the quash the impugned order dated 12.06.2025 (A-1).

(ii)

To issue order or direction to the respondents to grant family pension in favour of the applicant under Rules 1993 with all consequential benefits.

(iii)

To issue order or direction to the respondents to pay arrears of family pension w.e.f. 19.5.2021 along with 6% interest per annum from the due date of till actual payment date in favour of the applicant.

(iv)

Award the cost in favour of the applicant”.

2.

The brief facts of the case are that the applicant’s father was a retired Railway employee and was drawing pension. He died on 28.09.2010. The applicant was married to Shri Sunil Rai on 23.06.1999. However, her husband was not maintaining her and had been missing since 2011. The applicant, therefore, filed Case No. 28 of 2017 (828 of 2016) under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955, seeking judicial separation after her husband had remained missing for several years and it was decreed ex-parte. The applicant’s mother, Smt. Bhagwati Devi, was receiving family pension after the death of her husband. She died on 18.05.2021. Applicant’s husband was traced later on but he also died on 19.7.2022. Thereafter, the applicant submitted representations dated 07.06.2021 and 28.07.2021 to the respondents, claiming family pension under Rule 75(6)(iii) of the Railway Services (Pension) Rules, 1993. However, respondent No. 4, vide the impugned order dated 12.06.2025, rejected her claim. Being aggrieved by the said order, the applicant has filed the present Original Application.

3.

Per contra, the respondents, in their counter affidavit, submitted that the applicant is claiming family pension as a divorced daughter of late Shri Ram Kishan, who retired from Railway service on medical grounds on 10.05.1993 and died on 28.09.2010. After his death, his wife, Smt. Bhagwati Devi was receiving family pension. The applicant claimed family pension on the ground that she was a divorced daughter. However, the order dated 19.12.2018 passed by the Family Court shows that she was granted judicial separation under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955, and not a decree of divorce under Section 13 of the said Act. Therefore, she cannot be treated as a divorced daughter on the basis of the said order. Accordingly, her claim was rejected vide letter dated 16.06.2022. The respondents further submitted that the applicant subsequently claimed family pension as a widowed daughter. Her claim was examined in the light of the Railway Board’s policy guidelines dated 26.09.2013, issued vide RBE No. 99/2013. Upon examination, she was found ineligible for family pension and the decision was communicated to her vide letters dated 06.11.2023 and 12.06.2025. The respondents, therefore, submitted that the applicant does not fulfill the prescribed eligibility conditions and is not entitled to family pension. They prayed that the Original Application be dismissed.

4.

The applicant has also filed a rejoinder affidavit, reiterating the facts stated in the Original Application and denying the averments made in the counter affidavit. No new facts have been brought on record in the rejoinder affidavit.

5.

I have heard Shri S.M. Ali, learned counsel for the applicant, and Shri Anil Kumar as well as Shri Bashist Tiwari, learned counsel for the respondents, and have perused the record.

6.

Learned counsel for the applicant submitted that the applicant is the daughter of late Shri Ram Kishan, a retired Railway employee and has been dependent upon her parents for her livelihood since 2011, when her husband went missing. After the death of her father, her mother Smt. Bhagwati Devi was receiving family pension until her death on 18.05.2021. It was further submitted that as her husband had been missing since 2011, the applicant approached the Family Court, Jhansi, and obtained an order of judicial separation under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955 on 19.12.2018. Learned counsel for the applicant further contended that the applicant could not obtain a decree of divorce in the absence of her husband and, therefore, she had to seek judicial separation from the competent court. It was further submitted that her husband was traced in 2022 and died on 19.07.2022. Learned counsel for the applicant further submitted that she is not claiming family pension under Rule 70 of the Railway Services (Pension) Rules, 1993, but under Rule 75(6)(iii) of the said Rules, as a dependent daughter. According to him, the respondents wrongly rejected her claim by relying upon Rule 70 without properly considering her eligibility under Rule 75 of said Rules. It was also contended that the applicant had no independent source of income and remained dependent upon her mother until her death on 18.05.2021. Therefore, she is entitled to family pension from the date of her mother’s death. Learned counsel for the applicant lastly submitted that the impugned order dated 12.06.2025 is not a reasoned order and deserves to be set aside. He, therefore, prayed that the Original Application be allowed and the respondents be directed to grant family pension to the applicant in accordance with the applicable rules, along with consequential benefits.

7.

Learned counsel for the respondents, on the other hand, submitted that the applicant is claiming family pension as a dependent daughter of late Shri Ram Kishan, a retired Railway employee who died on 28.09.2010. After his death mother of the applicant received family pension until her death on 18.05.2021. It was further submitted that the applicant was married to Shri Sunil Rai on 23.06.1999. The order dated 19.12.2018 passed by the Family Court, Jhansi, granted judicial separation under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955, and not divorce. Therefore, the applicant cannot claim the status of a divorced daughter on the basis of the said order. Learned counsel for the respondents further submitted that the applicant’s claim was examined under the applicable provisions of the Railway Services (Pension) Rules, 1993, and the Railway Board’s policy guidelines dated 26.09.2013, issued vide RBE No. 99/2013. Upon examination, she was found ineligible for family pension, and the decision was communicated to her through the relevant office letters, including the impugned order dated 12.06.2025. She must fulfill the eligibility conditions prescribed under the applicable rules but she was not fulfilling the same. Learned counsel for the respondents submitted that the respondents have rightly rejected her claim and that no illegality has been committed by them. He, therefore, prayed that the Original Application, being devoid of merit, be dismissed. In support of his submissions, learned counsel for the respondents relied upon the judgment dated 23.02.2026 passed by this Tribunal in Naresh Kumar v. Union of India and Others, OA No. 516/2012.

8.

I have considered the submissions of learned counsel for both parties and perused the record.

9.

The main question for consideration is whether the applicant is entitled to family pension as a widowed or divorced daughter of late Shri Ram Kishan under Rule 75(6)(iii) of the Railway Services (Pension) Rules, 1993. Another question is whether the impugned order dated 12.06.2025 has been passed by giving proper reasons.

10.

It is not disputed that the applicant's father died on 28.09.2010 and her mother, who was receiving family pension, died on 18.05.2021. The applicant was married to Shri Sunil Rai on 23.06.1999. Her husband went missing in 2011. The Family Court, Jhansi, passed an order dated 19.12.2018 granting judicial separation under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955. Her husband was traced in 2022 and died on 19.07.2022.

11.

The order of judicial separation passed under Section 10 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1955, permits the parties to live separately but does not dissolve their marriage. On the other hand, a decree of divorce under Section 13 of the said Act dissolves the marriage. Therefore, the order dated 19.12.2018, being an order of judicial separation, cannot be treated as a decree of divorce. Accordingly, the applicant cannot be treated as a divorced daughter on the basis of the said order.

12.

The next question is whether the applicant became eligible for family pension as a widowed daughter after the death of her husband on 19.07.2022.

13.

In the present case, the applicant's mother died on 18.05.2021, whereas her husband died on 19.07.2022. Thus, the applicant became a widow after the death of her mother. Further, the order of judicial separation passed in 2018 did not dissolve her marriage. Therefore, on the relevant date, the applicant was neither a divorced daughter nor a widowed daughter.

14.

The applicant has submitted that her husband had been missing since 2011 and that she was dependent upon her parents for her livelihood. These facts may show that she was living separately from her husband and was dependent upon her parents. However, family pension can be granted only in accordance with the applicable rules and policy guidelines.

15.

In Naresh Kumar (supra), this Tribunal has dealt with another issue which was relating to the claim of an adopted child for family pension. The facts and issue involved in that case are different from those of the present case. Therefore, the said judgment does not help any assistance to resolve the issue involved in the present matter.

16.

Similar issue as is involved in the present matter came up for consideration before this Bench in Smt. Rukaiya Khatoon filed O.A. No. 806 of 2019 before this Tribunal seeking family pension as a widowed daughter. The said Original Application was dismissed by order dated 21.07.2023. The Tribunal observed that her father had died on 10.02.1998, whereas she was married to Shri Shahid Ahmed on 18.04.1971. Her husband died on 16.12.2005, i.e., after the death of her father. Thus, her husband was alive at the time of her father's death and she was dependent upon her husband. It was also admitted by her that she shifted to her father's house after the death of her husband. Therefore, she was not dependent upon her father at the time of his death.

17.

The aforesaid order was challenged before the Hon'ble Allahabad High Court in Writ-A No. 19022 of 2023, Smt. Rukaiya Khatoon v. Union of India and Others, decided on 09.11.2023. The Hon'ble High Court considered Railway Board Circular No. RBE 99/2013 dated 26.09.2013 and held that a widowed or divorced daughter must fulfill the prescribed eligibility conditions at the time of the death of her parent who was a Railway employee. The Hon’ble Court further observed that where the husband of a married daughter was alive at the time of her parent's death and she became a widow only thereafter, she was not entitled to family pension under the said provision. The relevant portion of the aforesaid judgment is reproduced below:-

“9.

In the present case, the petitioner is the daughter of Warasat Hussain, the deceased railway employee. She got married to one Shahid Ahmad on 18.04.1971. Seen in that light, on the date of occurrence of the unfortunate death of her father i.e. 10.02.1998, she was not eligible to family pension under the Rules as they existed. On that date, the Railway Board Circular, RBE No. 99 of 2013, dated 26.09.2013 had not come in force. To that extent, there is no dispute between the parties.

10.

As to the effect of the Railway Board Circular, RBE No. 99 of 2013, dated 26.09.2013, in light of paragraph-1 and 4 thereof extracted above, it is clear that the eligibility to receive family pension was created also in favour widowed/divorced daughter of a railway employee with effect from 30.08.2004. Again it cannot be disputed that the said eligibility was created with retrospective effect i.e. for the benefit of such eligible widowed/divorced daughter even in cases where the railway employee being the parent of the widowed/divorced daughter (claiming eligibility), may have died before 30.08.2004. However, the liability to pay family pension would arise prospectively, from 30.08.2004 only.

11.

What therefore requires our consideration is whether the petitioner was eligible to receive family pension arising from the death of her father which took place on 10.02.1998. Insofar as the petitioner is the daughter of the deceased, Warasat Hussain, a railway employee who died on 10.02.1998, the condition prescribed in paragraph-1 of the Railway Board Circular, RBE No. 99 of 2013, dated 26.09.2013, stood satisfied, to that limited extent. However, the language of paragraph-4 of the said Circular leaves no element of doubt that family pension would be payable to a widowed / divorced daughter of a railway employee if she fulfils the eligibility conditions at the time of occurrence of death of her parent who may have been a railway employee.

12.

In view of that specific stipulation, the petitioner must establish the eligibility to receive pension on the date of occurrence of death of her father, Warasat Hussain on 10.02.1998.

13.

In that regard, it is undisputed that the petitioner was married to Shahid Ahmad on 10.04.1971. He was alive on the date of occurrence of death of Warasat Hussain i.e. 10.02.1998. The status of widowhood came to be attached to the petitioner after seven years on 16.12.2005.

14.

Therefore, on the date of occurrence of death of Warasat Hussain, the petitioner did not fulfil the eligibility condition to receive family pension.

15.

Further submission of learned counsel for the petitioner that if such interpretation is made, the petitioner would have remained ineligible to receive family pension even if Shahid Ahmad had predeceased Warasat Husssain, is therefore misconceived. In cases where a married daughter of a railway employee either had divorced or if she may lose her husband during the life time of her parent-a railway employee, by virtue of the express language of paragraph-4 of the Railway Board Circular, RBE No. 99 of 2013, dated 26.09.2013, eligibility condition to receive family pension would always stand fulfilled on the date of occurrence of such death.

16.

In such cases, subject to fulfilment of all other conditions, the claim for family pension may be tested on its own merits.

17.

In view of the above, we find no error committed by the Tribunal in rejecting the Original Application on the reasoning that the husband of the petitioner was alive on the date of occurrence of death of her father who was a railway employee.

18.

The writ petition lacks merits and is accordingly dismissed. No order as to costs”.

18.

The principle laid down in the aforesaid judgment applies to the facts of the present case. The applicant's husband was alive on the date of her mother's death. She became a widow only thereafter. Therefore, she did not fulfill the prescribed condition on the relevant date.

19.

The applicant has also challenged the impugned order dated 12.06.2025 on the ground that it is a non-speaking order. The impugned order dated 12.06.2025 is quoted herein below:-

“उƣर मÚय रेल कार्यालय मंडल रेल प्रबंधक (का.) झांसी पत्रक पी/ईएसपी-09/आर-59/50/174 श्रीमती जय कुमारी राय पत्नी श्री सुनील कुमार, नि-मट्टा गाँव सिमराहा, झांसी, उ०प्र० दिनांक:-12.06.2025 विषय - स्व० श्री रामकिशन पुत्र मूलचन्द्र भू.पू. डब्लू.एम.एम./ सी.एण्ड डब्लू / झांसी मेडी. अनफिट दि० 10.05.1993 के पत्नी द्वारा विधवा / तलाकशुदा पुत्री श्रीमती जय कुमारी राय के परिवार पेंशन भुगतान के संबंध में।

उपरोक्त विषयांकित के सम्बन्ध में आपको अवगत कराया जाता है कि आपके द्वारा इस कार्यालय में आवेदन प्रस्तुत किया था जिसमें आपने भू.पू. कर्मचारी व उनकी पत्नी के मृत्यु उपरान्त तलाकशुदा / विधवा पुत्री के रूप में परिवार पेंशन भुगतान हेतु माँग की है।

इस सम्बन्ध में आपको अवगत कराया जाता है कि सक्षम अधिकारी महोदय के द्वारा जाँच में पाया गया है कि मौजूदा रेलवे बोर्ड के नियमों व प्रावधानों के अनुसार आप पारिवारिक पेंशन के लिए उपयुक्त नहीं पायी गयी है।

अतः आप परिवार पेंशन प्राप्त करने की पात्रता नहीं रखती है आपका प्रकरण बन्द किया जाता है।“

20.

Perusal of the impugned order reveals that the applicant's claim was rejected on the basis of the Rules and instructions applicable to Railway services. An order which has been passed relying upon the applicable Rules and instructions, cannot be held to be unreasoned or non-speaking, particularly when the applicant's eligibility has been considered. Therefore, the submission made on behalf of the applicant in this regard is also not acceptable. It further appears that the applicant repeatedly submitted representations seeking family pension on one ground or another, even when the earlier grounds raised by her were found to be untenable or had become infructuous.

22.

In view of the ratio laid down in OA No. 806/2019 (supra), which was upheld by the Hon'ble High Court in the aforesaid writ petition, I am of the view that no interference is required in the impugned order. The OA, being devoid of merit, is accordingly dismissed. There shall be no order as to costs. All associated MAs stand disposed of.