Tribunals and CommissionsDivision Bench(2026) 09 CAT CK 5368

Haraprasad Pattnaik vs Union Of India & Ors.

Central Administrative Tribunal · Decided on 18 September 2026

HON’BLE JUDGES
Sudhi Ranjan Mishra, Member (J) · Pramod Kumar Das, Member (A)
CASE NUMBER
O.A.No. 260/00369 of 2022

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

Ask AI about this case

AI Structured Summary

Not yet generated for this judgment

Judgment

20 paragraphs · 3,199 words

SUDHI RANJAN MISHRA, MEMBER (J):

In this OA, the applicant seeks kind indulgence on the strength of the provision made under Rights of Persons with Disability Act, 2016, based on which, the DoP&T issued the OM dated 08.10.2018 and OM No. 36035/44/2023-Estt (Res-II) dated 02.02.2024 against the order dated 22.06.2022 and 27.07.2022, transferring him from SER, Bhubaneswar to RGI, Raipur and posting Resp. No.6 [Sri D.Suresh Kumar] in his place from Div. IX, Hyderabad.

2.

According to the applicant/Ld. Counsel for the applicant, taking into consideration the family difficulties, including the difficulties faced by the dependent sister who is 100% blind, applicant sought for permanent transfer to Bhubaneswar which was duly considered and accordingly, on compassionate ground, he was posted to CGWB, Division X Bhubaneswar in the year 2000. Thereafter, he was posted to CGWB, SER, Bhubaneswar. In 2006, he was promoted to UDC and, in 2012 to Office Superintendent. But, without considering the facts that he is the caregiver of his 100% blind dependent sister and exempted from rotational transfer as per OMs of the DoP&T dated 8th October, 2018, the Respondents transferred him to Raipur and posted Respondent No.6 in his place. However, Resp. No.6 [Sri D.Suresh Kumar] challenged his order of transfer on the ground of his disability before the CAT, Hyderabad Bench and, during pendency of the matter, the Respondents cancelled his transfer and posting to the place of the applicant vide office order No. 751 of 2022 dated 28.11.2022. It is stated that applicant submitted representation, which was duly forwarded by his immediate superior authority, i.e. Respondent No.4, giving full justification for cancellation of the transfer of Applicant. But the Respondent No. 3, without paying any heed to the DoP&T OMs exempting rotational transfer of the caregiver even though the applicant is the caregiver of his 100% blind dependent sister, rejected the representation without assigning any reason which is not sustainable in the eyes of law. According to them, as per the decision of the Hon’ble Apex Court, the of Govt. of India issued instruction for formation of Committee to consider the transfer and posting of employees but neither the order of transfer nor order of rejection shows that the transfer of the applicant made on the recommendation of any such Committee. In placing reliance on the order of this Bench dated 02.07.2026 in OA No. 156/2025 [Smt. Sasmita Sahoo Vs UOI & Ors] wherein this Bench interfered in the order of transfer made in violation of OMs, applicant’s counsel prayed for the relief claimed in this OA.

3.

On the other hand, Ld. Counsel appearing for the respondents, in course of hearing, by placing reliance on the submissions made in the pleadings of the respondents, has opposed the prayer of the applicant. According to respondents, on 22.07.1997, applicant joined as LDC at Udyog Bhawan, New Delhi, Ministry of Industries and, on consideration of his request for taking care of his old ailing parents and 100% disabled blind sister, he was transferred on compassionate ground in the same capacity to CGWB, Division-X, Bhubaneswar where he joined in December, 2000. He was transferred to CGWB, SER, Bhubaneswar in the year 2005. Subsequently, he was promoted to UDC in the year 2006 and to Office Superintendent in 2012. Since then, he has been continuing in the same office. There is no vested right of the applicant to stay in the same office taking advantage of the office memorandum of DoP&T F. No. 42011/3/2014-Estt. (Res) dated 08th October 2018 because it has clearly been provided in the said memorandum that exemption of routine/rotational transfer of an employee under Section 2(r) of the rights of the Person with Disabilities Act, 2016 is subject to the administrative constraints. The transfer of the applicant was made with the approval of the competent authority, in public interest, vide Order F. No. 20-04/2022-Min. Estt. 4279 dtd. 22.06.2022. The ground taken by the applicant regarding his sister’s 100% disability/blindness and dependence on him, is nothing but to establish his case. His representation dated 23.06.2022 praying for reconsideration of his transfer was considered and rejected by the competent authority on 27.07.2022. It is stated that as per the referred circular, the employee shall be transferred to nearest place and the RGI, Raipur is one of the nearest and he can easily look after his family/dependent sister at the time of need of his hands. The applicant served at Bhubaneswar for more than 21 years and comes under the Rotational Transfer Policy. It is stated that Raipur is a big city, where all medical facilities and modern therapy are available. It is stated that considering the requirement of the hands at Raipur, the applicant has been transferred there, more so, since the RGI is a big set up and is an institute of All India basis where all officers and staff went for training and other studies including State Government Authorities. Hence, both in the pleadings as also in course of hearing, learned counsel for the respondents prayed that the OA being devoid of any merit is liable to be dismissed.

4.

Heard. Perused the records.

5.

Law is well-settled that administrative exigency or public interest is not a device to transfer an employee from one place to other to wreak vengeance or to satisfy vested interests. We need to remind that discretion is not a charter for arbitrariness. Discretion vests an officer empowered to decide fate of his subordinates with a choice between alternatives. When the statute, rule, instruction, guidelines or regulation provides guidance for its exercise, the action must conform to it and exercise of power of the authority must not be whimsical or arbitrary; it must be informed by reasonableness and fairness, as abuse or unfair use is never the legislative intent. It is, indeed, sad and unfortunate that if these salient principles governing exercise of discretion were either not present to the mind of the officers concerned or, even if present, were consciously given a complete go-bye for extraneous considerations. The Respondents themselves fairly admitted that the applicant was transferred to Bhubaneswar on compassionate ground, as a caregiver of his 100% disabled/blind sister and to take care of his old ailing parents. The Respondents have also fairly admitted that the DoP&T OM exempts routine/rotational transfer of an employee under Section 2(r) of the rights of the Person with Disabilities Act, 2016 subject to the administrative constraints and, the administrative constraints cited by the Respondents in their counter does not sound to appeal because the applicant was transferred to Raipur and in his place Res.No.6 was posted at BBSR and, that subsequently on similar ground of disability, the transfer of Res.No.6 was cancelled.

6.

It is noted that blindness is explicitly listed as a "Specified Disability" under the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (RPwD) Act, 2016. A 100% blindness condition qualifies as a Benchmark Disability (anything above 40%), satisfying the legal requirements for exemption. As per the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) guidelines, a Central Government employee who is the primary caregiver of a 100% blind dependent sister is eligible for exemption from routine or rotational transfers. This is governed under the milestone DoPT Office Memorandum No. 42011/3/2014-Estt.(Res) dated October 08, 2018, later consolidated in OM No. 36035/44/2023-Estt(Res-II) dated February 2, 2024 providing therein that a Government employee who is a care-giver of dependent daughter/son/parents/spouse/brother/sister with Specified Disability, as certified by the certifying authority, as a Person with Benchmark Disability, as defined under Section 2(r) of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 may be exempted from the routine exercise of transfer/rotational transfer subject to the administrative constraints. The term 'Specified Disability as defined in the Schedule to the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016, covers (i) Loco motor disability including leprosy cured person, cerebral palsy, dwarfism, muscular dystrophy and Acid attack victims (ii) Blindness (iii) Low vision (iv) Deaf (v) Hard of hearing (vi) Speech and language disabilities (vii) Intellectual disability including specific learning disabilities and autism spectrum disorder (viii) Mental illness (ix) Disability caused due to: (a) Neurological conditions such as Multiple sclerosis and Parkinson's disease (h) Blood disorder- Haemophilia, Thalassemia and Sickle cell-disease and (x) Multiple disabilities (more than one of the above specified disabilities) including deaf blindness and any other category of disabilities as may be notified by the Central Government. The term 'Specified Disability as defined herein is applicable as grounds only for the purpose of seeking exemption from routine transfer/ rotational transfer by a Government employee, who is a caregiver of dependent daughter/son/parents/ spouse/brother /sisters.

7.

The Hon’ble Allahabad High Court in the case of Neeraj Chaturvedi v. Central Bank Of India, 2022 SCC OnLine All 399, decided on 09-06-2022, based on the DoP&T OM dated memorandum of DOPT dated 08-10-2018, interfered in the order of transfer of the Petitioner, therein, by observing that if there is any beneficial or compassionate policy to accommodate any employee for the specific and certain reason, the same must be abided by in its letter and spirit. It was further explained that since the dependent of the of the petitioner is a permanently disabled person having 100% disability and to look-after and take care of dependent is the sole responsibility of the petitioner, then his status shall come within the meaning of term ‘care-giver’ as defined under Section 2 (d) of the Act, 2016. The rotational transfers are meant for a person who has not been protected by any compassionate or beneficial policy but if any employee has been protected from any beneficial or compassionate policy, the same may not be ignored unless there is any administrative reason to transfer such person from one zone to another zone. The transfer is an exigency/incidence of service and no courts ordinarily interfere with the transfer orders but if such transfer is avoided for any specific compelling reason and that reason is unavoidable, the Competent Authority being model employer should consider such condition sympathetically.

8.

One Shri Upendra Tiwari, an employee of BSNL challenged his order of transfer before the co-ordinate Bench of CAT, PB, New Delhi in OA No. 4944 of 2025 on the ground that he is the caregiver of his younger brother who is suffering from mental illness and, therefore is exempted from rotational transfer in terms of the DOPT Office Memorandum No. 36035/44/2023-Estt (Res-II) dated 02.02.2024, the policy formulated by the BSNL to the said effect and the provisions and Section 2(r) of the RPWD Act-2016, the CAT, PB, New Delhi vide order dated 13.04.2026 by applying the DoP&T OM, referred to above, policy formulated to the said effect by the BSNL so also the provision of RPWD Act, 2016 quashed the order of transfer by holding as under:

“11.

We have carefully perused the speaking order of BSNL No. BSNLCO-PER1/20(11)/4/2025-PERS1 dated 05.12.2025 and noted that this order does not fully capture the letter and spirit of (i) DoPT OM No. 36035/44/2023-Estt(Res-II) dated 02.02.2024 and (ii) BSNL Communication No. BSNLCO-PERS/15(11)/2/2024-PERS1 dated 14.03.2024. It also does not show empathy to the applicant who is the sole care giver to his younger unmarried brother who is totally dependant of upon him (after the demise of his mother) and is getting care and attention from a Doctor Dr Sonal Bali at Vimhans hospital based in Gurugram. We have also noted that the disabled brother gets a disability pension of Rs 30,000/- per month and thus cannot be shown as a dependant of the applicant as per CGHS norms where the monthly income of the dependant should be less than Rs. 9,000/-. However, this is a case not of financial dependence but, physical and emotional dependence. It is a case of a 'Lakshman' dependent upon 'Ram' and thus needs to be viewed from the lens of RPWD Act, 2016 and not CGHS rules. Our constitution under Article 21 has enshrined and embodied the Right to life and in our considered opinion this case fits fairly and squarely under this article.

12.

In the light of the above, we are of the considered opinion that the balance of convenience in the instant OA lies with the applicant. The instant OA has merit; deserves to be allowed and is accordingly allowed. We hereby quash and set aside the impugned speaking-cum-transfer order dated 05.12.2025 qua the applicant and consequently, the relieving order dated 11.12.2025 is also quashed and set aside. We further direct the respondents to consider granting the benefit of clause 6(i) of the BSNL Transfer Policy to the applicant and consider posting him in any of the seven places of his choice as he is now at the fag end of his career retiring in about 3½ years time. This exercise should be completed within a period of three months from the date of receipt of certified copy of this order. MAs if any are also disposed of in similar manner. However, there shall be no order as to cost.”

9.

Similar type of challenge was made before the Coordinate Bench of CAT, Lucknow in OA No.332/543 of 2024 titled Smt Neeraj Suri vs NVS and the Lucknow Bench vide order dated 17th April, 2025 quashed the order of transfer by holding as under:

“7.4

It is evident from the above, that the authorities are required to deal with the cases of transfer of employee having a dependent relative with specified disability affording such cases adequate consideration. It is further observed that such consideration is required to be given irrespective of the age of the disabled dependent relative. 8.1 Reverting to the case at hand, it is noted that the main ground cited by the applicant for her retention at Lucknow is the condition of her elder son who has cerebral palsy and epilepsy. The respondents have defended their decision to transfer the applicant in the context of CAT,Lucknow Bench OA No. 332/543 of 2024 Smt. Neeraj Suri Vs. U.O.I &Ors. DoPT's OM dated 15.02.1991 on the ground that medical facilities are available at Patna also. It is observed, however, that the respondents have not taken into account the evolving policy of the Government in the matter, particularly, DoPT's OM dated 08.10.2018 while dealing with the applicant's case. Learned counsel for the respondents submitted that NVS is an autonomous society and the DoPT's OMs do not apply to NVS unless they are specifically adopted by them. This plea does not hold water when the DoPT's OM dated 08.10.2018 itself is based on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 which is applicable to the respondents as well.

8.2

The respondents have made references to deficiencies in the work and conduct of the applicant and the recommendation of the committee formed by them to take administrative action against the applicant or transfer her on administrative ground. It is observed that the performance and conduct of an employee should not have a bearing on the Central Administrative Tribunalsupport extended by policy in matters of transfer of an employee whose child is a person with disability. It must be added, however, that such support in matters of transfer has no relation to such administrative action as the competent authority may contemplate against the employee for deficiencies in work and conduct. 8.3 The respondents have stated that the applicant has not made any representation to them against her transfer and has approached this Tribunal directly. As noted in the order dated 05.09.2024 granting interim relief, the transfer order was issued on 01.08.2024 and the applicant was relieved from RO, Lucknow the very next day, i.e., on 02.08.2024, without providing her any effective opportunity to avail of the remedy indicated by them.

8.4

The net result is that the respondents failed to afford thoughtful consideration to the applicant's case in the context of the cerebral palsy and 75% disability of her son and the public policy enunciated in the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 as well as the DoPT's OM dated 08.10.2018. Instead, it is noticed that the respondents hurriedly relieved the applicant treating her to be an inconvenient employee to be removed to another place. Non application of mind with reference to the extant public policy is manifest in the actions of the respondents in transferring and relieving the applicant, thus rendering these actions unsustainable in law.

9.1

In view of the facts and circumstances above, the order dated 01.08.2024 and order dated 02.08.2024 are quashed and set aside.

10.

The Hon’ble High Court of Delhi in the case of Shambhu Nath Rai vs Union of India and Others in W.P.(C) 7318/2025 dated November 18, 2025 held that so long as child or dependent continues to suffer from disability, an employee would be entitled to benefit of Caregiver in proximity and further held as under:

“14.7

The constraint must also be of sufficient importance and significance as would justify compromising the interest of the disabled child or dependent. Ordinarily, in our view, the interest of the disabled child or dependent must be accorded primacy. This is the very raison detre of the RPWD Act. In this context, we place reliance on the following passages from the judgments of the Supreme court in Rajive Raturi v. Union of India, (2024) 16 SCC 654, Vikash Kumar v. UPSC, (2021) 5 SCC 370 and In Re: Recruitment of Visually Impaired in Judicial Services, 2025 SCC OnLine SC 481, where the Supreme Court has emphasized the need for inclusion and integration of persons with disabilities into the societal fabric and to ensure that their interests are provided reasonable accommodation, so as to mitigate the effect of their disabilities.”

11.

The Departmental authorities cannot issue a routine transfer order and expect the disabled employee or the caregiver to absorb the disruption. The burden lies entirely on the employer to conclusively prove an unavoidable "administrative constraint" or public interest necessity before displacing disabled or a caregiver. The DoPT OM dated October 8, 2018, extends strict exemption to government employees who serve as Central Administrative Tribunalthe primary caregivers for dependents with "Specified Disabilities". The provisions of the Disabilities Act sub-serves the significant constitutional object of ensuring of taking due care of the dependent disabled child, parents, brother or sister. The object of the Disabilities Act can be effectuated only if the employee is in close proximity to the child. There is nothing adverse reported against the Applicant. As noted above, none of the grounds stated in the counter appeals to judicial conscience that the administrative exigency is such, in absence of posting of applicant at Raipur, there shall be a complete bottleneck in the department. Also, it is not the case of the Respondents that the 100% blind sister is not the dependent on the applicant. Thus, on examination of law and DoP&T OMs vis-à-vis the facts of the present case referred to above, we do not have any iota of doubt or hesitation to hold that the Applicant is entitled to necessary protection in the matter of his transfer as a caregiver of his 100% blind sister. In the said premises, the impugned orders dated 22.06.2022 and 27.07.2022, in respect of the applicant, are hereby quashed.

12.

In the result, this OA stands allowed. Pending MAs, if any, are accordingly disposed of. Parties to bear their own costs.