High CourtsSingle Bench(2024) 12 DEL CK 2100

Wakil Kumar @ Wakil Das vs Arvind Biswakarma & Ors.

Delhi High Court · Decided on 2 December 2024

HON’BLE JUDGES
Neena Bansal Krishna, J
RESULT
Allowed
CASE NUMBER
MAC.APP. 101/2020, CM APPL. 7416/2020 (delay)

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

CourtKutchehry membership

More clarity. Every judgment.

Download court copies, explore connected cases and make more of every research session.

Loading membership options…

Ask AI about this case

AI Structured Summary

Not yet generated for this judgment

Judgment

52 paragraphs · 900 words
1.

The Appeal under Section 173 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (‘M.V.Act’ hereinafter) has been filed on behalf of the Injured/Claimant against the impugned Judgment dated 26.10.2018 to seek enhancement of compensation which is awarded to him in the sum of Rs.8,33,332/- along with interest @ 9% p.a. from 15.04.2010 till 18.09.2012.

2.

The enhancement of compensation is sought on the following grounds:-

i.

that the injured was 22 year old, working as helper of a truck. He suffered 90% of Permanent Disability of left upper limb but his Functional Disability has been taken as 50% ,when in fact it should have been taken as 100%;

ii.

that the compensation granted under Non-Pecuniary Heads is inadequate; and

iii.

that no compensation has been granted on account of Loss of Amenities of Life, Marriage Prospects, Attendant and Nursing Charges and Loss of Longevity of Life.

3.

Learned counsel on behalf of the Insurance Company submits that the compensation has been granted, in accordance with law.

4.

Submissions heard.

5.

Briefly stated, on 11.07.2009 at about 4:30 PM, Appellant was sitting as helper, in the cabin of truck bearing no.HR-38K-8009, which was being driven by Mr. Arvind Biswakarma/Respondent No.l in a rash and negligent manner It hit another stationary vehicle bearing No.UP-65R-8270 from back side, because of which the Appellant/Claimant sustained grievous injuries. The Appellant was removed to M. M. College Hospital, Gaya, Bihar from where he was referred to Gokul Hospital, Patna where he remained admitted from 11.07.2009 to 20.07.2009.

Functional Disability:

6.

The first ground on which enhancement is sought, is that the Injured suffered 90% of Permanent Disability of left lower limb, but his Functional Disability has been taken as 50% when in fact it should have been taken as 100% given the nature of his job.

7.

PW2-Ms. Renu Jain, Statistical Assistant, Dr. BR Ambedkar Hospital, Delhi was examined by the Appellant before the Ld. Tribunal, who placed the Medical Disability Assessment record along with Permanent Disability Certificate whereby his permanent disability of left upper limb was taken as 90%.

8.

Further, PW3-Dr. G.C. Verma, Member Disability Board of Dr. BR Ambedkar Hospital deposed that the injured would not be able to work ever with his left upper limb as he suffered 90% permanent physical disability in relation to his left upper limb and had amputation/disarticulation from the left shoulder of the upper limb.Consequently, the Ld. Tribunal held the functional disability to be 50% qua the whole body.

9.

It is evident from the record that the Appellant was a helper on a truck which entails lifting, loading and unloading goods.Therefore, in light of the facts and circumstances of the present case, the functional disability qua the whole body is modified to 80%. Therefore, his loss of future earnings on account of disability is calculated as Rs. 9,51,619.968/-(5,507.06/- x 12 x 18 x 80/100).

Non Pecuniary Heads:

10.

The second ground on which enhancement is sought is that Non-Pecuniary Heads is inadequate. Pertinently, the Ld. Tribunal has awarded sum of Rs. 15,000/- towards Compensation for mental and physical shock; Rs. 15,000/- towards compensation on account of pain and sufferingand a sum of Rs. 50,000/- towards disfiguration.

11.

Given the facts of the present case, the Injured/Appellant was of the young age of 22 years at the time of the accident. In light of the nature of injuries suffered by him, and also considering that it is an accident of 2009,the compensation awarded towards Mental and physical shock is hereby enhanced to Rs. 50,000/- and the compensation towards Pain and suffering is also enhanced to Rs. 50,000/-. The Ld. Tribunal has rightly awarded Rs. 50,000/- towards disfiguration.

Compensation towards Other Non-Pecuniary heads:

12.

The third ground is that no amount is awarded towardsLoss of Amenities of Life, Marriage Prospects, Attendant and Nursing Charges and Loss of Longevity of Life.

13.

Pertinently, no evidence has been adduced by the Appellant/Injured showing that he incurred charges on Attendant or a Nurse. However, the Injured has suffered 90% of Permanent Disability of left upper limb which albeit life altering, he is definitely entitled to some attendant charges. Considering his nature of work of the injured, a lumpsum amount of Rs. 2,50,000/- is awarded towards Attendant Charges.

14.

Further, he is a young unmarried person. A sum of Rs. 75,000/- is awarded towards his loss of marriage prospects.

15.

He is also awarded Rs. 50,000/- towards loss of amenities of life.

Conclusion:

16.

In light of the above, the Compensation amount is modified as hereinunder:

S.

No.

Head

Awarded by

Tribunal

Awarded by this

Court

1.Medical ExpensesRs. 1,16,709/-Rs. 1,16,709/-(same)
2.DisfigurementRs. 50,000/-

Rs. 50,000/-

(same)

3.Special DietsRs. 15,000/-

Rs. 15,000/-

(same)

4.ConveyanceRs. 15,000/-

Rs. 15,000/-

(same)

5.Loss of Future earningsRs. 5,94,821/-Rs.9,51,619.968/-
6.

Loss of earnings during

treatment

Rs. 11,802/-Rs. 11,802/-
7.Pain and SufferingRs. 15,000/-Rs. 50,000/-
8.Mental and Physical ShockRs. 15,000/-Rs. 50,000/-
9.Loss of Amenities of LifeNilRs. 50,000/-
10.

Attendant and Nursing

Charges

NilRs. 2,50,000/-
11.Loss of Longevity of LifeNilNil
11-ALoss of Marriage ProspectsNil75,000/-
Total8,33,332/-16,35,131/-

Relief:-

17.

In view of the above, the Claimant is awarded total compensation of Rs. 16,35,131/- along with the interest @ 9% per annum from the date of filing of the Petition till realization, to be disbursed in terms of the Award dated 26.10.2018. The Insurance Company is directed to deposit the enhanced Awarded amount within 30days with the learned Tribunal.

18.

The Appeal is allowed and disposed of accordingly along with the pending Application(s).