← All articles

Court News

Injured Porter Gets Higher Compensation: Karnataka High Court Applies Centre’s ₹8,000 Notified Wage, Makes Insurer Pay and Recover From Tractor Owner

Injured Porter Gets Higher Compensation: Karnataka High Court Applies Centre’s ₹8,000 Notified Wage, Makes Insurer Pay and Recover From Tractor Owner

Case at a Glance

A hamali (loader) working on a tractor-trailer suffered leg fractures in 2010 when the tractor fell into a roadside channel. The Commissioner (MACT-IV, Davanagere) awarded ₹2,48,842 but took his income at ₹4,500 a month and absolved the insurer. The Karnataka High Court applied the Centre’s notification fixing ₹8,000 as monthly wages, used the Schedule IV factor of 225.22, and raised the compensation to ₹3,90,909. Relying on V. Renganathan v. United India Insurance, it directed the insurer to pay within eight weeks and recover from the owner.

The claimant worked as a hamali for the owner of a tractor-trailer. On 22 June 2010, while loading and unloading manure for transport on his employer’s instructions, the tractor fell into a roadside channel near Chattobanahalli village at about 5:45 pm. He suffered fractures of both bones of the left leg and other injuries, and underwent surgery at hospitals in Davanagere.

In ECA No. 79 of 2015, the Principal Senior Civil Judge and MACT-IV, Davanagere, by award dated 20 April 2017, granted ₹2,48,842 with 12% interest, taking his income at ₹4,500 a month, but fastened liability only on the owner and absolved the insurer entirely. The claimant appealed under Section 30(1) of the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, contending that his wage should be taken at ₹8,000 under the Central notification, that the correct factor was 225.22, and that the insurer should pay and recover. The owner conceded the income point.

The Key Question Before the Court

In an employees’ compensation claim, should the notified monthly wage be applied, and can the insurer be absolved of all liability, or must it pay and recover from the owner?

Notified wages and the pay-and-recover principle

Justice Tara Vitasta Ganju took the claimant’s monthly wage at ₹8,000 in terms of Notification S.O. 1258(E) dated 31 May 2010 issued by the Ministry of Labour and Employment, which was in force when the accident occurred, and considered 60% of it (₹4,800), as the statutory formula requires. Applying the factor of 225.22 under Schedule IV and the 30% disability adopted, compensation for disability came to ₹3,24,317. With ₹66,592 towards medical expenses, the total was ₹3,90,909, an enhancement of ₹1,42,067 over the award.

On liability, the Court relied on the Supreme Court’s decision in V. Renganathan v. Branch Manager, United India Insurance Company Limited (which discussed New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Asha Rani, (2002) 12 SC CK 0070 and Shivaraj v. Rajendra, (2018) 09 SC CK 0006) and a co-ordinate Bench decision in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Narayanaswamy, under which “the Insurer cannot be absolved of all its liability”. The insurer was therefore directed to pay the compensation to the claimant and recover it from the owner in accordance with law. Because the appeal had been filed 578 days late, the Court, consistent with its earlier order condoning the delay, denied interest on the enhanced amount for that period.

What the Court Actually Held

  • The monthly wage notified by the Centre (S.O. 1258(E), 31 May 2010: ₹8,000) applies, with 60% taken for computation and the Schedule IV factor of 225.22.
  • Compensation was enhanced by ₹1,42,067 to a total of ₹3,90,909, with 12% interest, but no interest on the enhanced amount for the 578-day delay in filing the appeal.
  • Following V. Renganathan, the insurer cannot be absolved of all liability; it must pay within eight weeks and may recover from the tractor owner.
  • The rest of the award stands, and deposited amounts are to be released to the claimant on application.

Why This Judgment Matters

  • Unorganised workers like hamalis are often assessed on low notional incomes; notified wages give a fair, objective floor.
  • The pay-and-recover direction ensures the injured worker is actually paid, leaving the insurer and owner to settle their dispute.
  • Delay in appealing has a price: interest on the enhancement is denied for the delay period.

What Should Advocates Take Away From the Judgment?

For Injured Workers

  • Ask the Commissioner to apply the wage notified by the Centre for the date of accident.
  • Check that the correct Schedule IV factor for your age has been used.
  • If the insurer is absolved, seek a pay-and-recover direction so you are paid first.

For Counsel

  • Cite S.O. 1258(E) dated 31 May 2010 for accidents in that period; the owner here conceded the point.
  • Rely on V. Renganathan and Narayanaswamy for pay and recover.
  • File appeals in time; delay can cost interest on any enhancement.

Key Takeaways

  • Notified wages set the floor for compensation computation.
  • 60% of wages times the factor times disability gives the amount.
  • Insurers may be directed to pay first and recover from owners.
  • Delay in appeal can cost interest on the enhancement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which wage applies to a worker injured in 2010?

The Court applied ₹8,000 a month under the Central notification S.O. 1258(E) dated 31 May 2010, considering 60% of it for compensation.

Why did the insurer have to pay when the Commissioner had absolved it?

Following the Supreme Court in V. Renganathan and the High Court in Narayanaswamy, the Court held the insurer cannot be absolved entirely and directed it to pay and recover from the owner.

Was interest paid on the whole enhancement?

The enhancement carries 12% interest, but no interest is payable for the 578 days of delay in filing the appeal.

Conclusion

N. Suresh Naik v. Manikyam K is a straightforward but useful reminder that statutory wage notifications and the Schedule IV factors are not optional, and that an injured worker should not be left chasing an individual vehicle owner.

Practical takeaway: In employees’ compensation appeals, check the notified wage for the accident date and seek a pay-and-recover direction against the insurer; file within time to protect interest.

For more judgments, legal opinions and case analysis, visit courtkutchehry.com

Visit CourtKutchehry →